Why the Good Shepherd

Hi and GOD Bless from Pastor Bill of God’s Will Church in Homosassa, FL. You have clicked on our blog which is our sermon page. It is a page so you can listen to our weekly sermons preached at our church. We list the Scripture references and of course upload the audio so you can be a part of our congregation. So you can focus as you listen we copy and paste the Scripture references so you can read along with the Scriptures as they are given. I do hope this helps. The references are all taken from the King James Version of the Holy Bible.  Also since you stopped by here take a moment to like us on Facebook just search for God’s Will Church FL or check out our website at http://www.godswillchurchfl.com. Also you can email me directly at pastorbill@godswillchurchfl.com if you have any questions or comments or would like to make a donation.

This week the title of the sermon is “Why the Good Shepherd,” preached on 12/21/13. The very first people to know about the newborn King were a few shepherds watching their flock by night. Why choose them? I believe it is because He is the Good Shepherd and He related most to those humble men watching their sheep. In this sermon, our Christmas service, we look at those shepherds till we see Jesus as the Good Shepherd. I do hope this Christmas season you will be blessed by this simple message. Have a great day and GOD Bless

Luke 2:8-14 And there were in the same country shepherds abiding in the field, keeping watchd over their flock by night. 9 And, lo, the angel of the Lord came upon them, and the glory of the Lord shone round about them: and they were sore afraid. 10 And the angel said unto them, Fear not: for, behold, I bring you good tidings of great joy, which shall be to all people. 11 For unto you is born this day in the city of David a Saviour, which is Christ the Lord. 12 And this shall be a sign unto you; Ye shall find the babe wrapped in swaddling clothes, lying in a manger. 13 And suddenly there was with the angel a multitude of the heavenly host praising God, and saying, 14 Glory to God in the highest, and on earth peace, good will toward men.

Isaiah 53:6 All we like sheep have gone astray; we have turned every one to his own way; and the LORD hath laidc on him the iniquity of us all.

2 Samuel 5:2 Also in time past, when Saul was king over us, thou wast he that leddest out and broughtest in Israel: and the LORD said to thee, Thou shalt feed my people Israel, and thou shalt be a captain over Israel.
Genesis 37:5-7  And Joseph dreamed a dream, and he told it his brethren: and they hated him yet the more. 6 And he said unto them, Hear, I pray you, this dream which I have dreamed: 7 For, behold, we were binding sheaves in the field, and, lo, my sheaf arose, and also stood upright; and, behold, your sheaves stood round about, and made obeisance to my sheaf.

John 10:11-18 I am the good shepherd: the good shepherd giveth his life for the sheep. 12 But he that is an hireling, and not the shepherd, whose own the sheep are not, seeth the wolf coming, and leaveth the sheep, and fleeth: and the wolf catcheth them, and scattereth the sheep. 13 The hireling fleeth, because he is an hireling, and careth not for the sheep. 14 I am the good shepherd, and know my sheep, and am known of mine. 15 As the Father knoweth me, even so know I the Father: and I lay down my life for the sheep. 16 And other sheep I have, which are not of this fold: them also I must bring, and they shall hear my voice; and there shall be one fold, and one shepherd. 17 Therefore doth my Father love me, because I lay down my life, that I might take it again. 18 No man taketh it from me, but I lay it down of myself. I have power to lay it down, and I have power to take it again. This commandment have I received of my Father.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

